What kind of SENDs are provided for at our school?

The SEND Code of Practice 2015 lists 4 main areas of SEND

Communication and interaction

This includes:

  • Children and young people with speech, language and communication needs (SLCN)
  • Children and young people with ASD, including Asperger’s Syndrome and Autism


Cognition and learning 

This includes:

  • Moderate learning difficulties (MLD),
  • Specific learning difficulties (SpLD). This encompasses a range of conditions such as dyslexia, dyscalculia and dyspraxia.

There are two additional types of learning difficulty:

  • Severe learning difficulties (SLD)
  • Profound and multiple learning difficulties (PMLD), where children are likely to have severe and complex learning difficulties as well as a physical disability or sensory impairment.

Usually these learners attend specialist schools, but occasionally they attend a mainstream school.


 Social, emotional and mental health difficulties

This includes a wide range of social and emotional difficulties which manifest themselves in many ways:

  • Becoming withdrawn or isolated,
  • Displaying challenging, disruptive or disturbing behaviour.
  • Mental health difficulties such as anxiety or depression, self-harming, substance misuse, eating disorders or physical symptoms that are medically unexplained.
  • Attention deficit disorder(ADD), attention deficit hyperactive disorder(ADHD) or attachment disorder.


Sensory and physical needs

This includes:

  • Vision impairment (VI),
  • Hearing impairment (HI)
  • Multi-sensory impairment (MSI) which will require specialist support and/or equipment to access learning, or habilitation support.
  • Physical disability (PD)


You can find out more at:

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/send-code-of-practice-0-to-25 pages 97-98